No need to apologise!

Have you ever been asked a question about your faith? If so, have you struggled to know what to say?

In the Bible we are told to Always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have (1 Pet 3:15). But knowing how to give an answer is sometimes easier said than done. Over the past few months I’ve been asked some pretty searching questions about the Christian faith, and I thought it might be a good idea to share in very general terms my replies. I’d love you to post your own questions or come back at my responses.

The technical term for defending your Christian faith is apologetics. The word comes from the same root as our word “apology” but its meaning is very different. There is certainly no need to apologise that you have a faith! Rather apologetics is about being able to give a clear and coherent reason why you believe. And in one sense all of us – if we’re serious about living out the gospel – are called to practise apologetics. It shouldn’t just be the role of the minister, although I’d be more than happy to answer any particular issues your friend or family member have.

So what are the questions I have been asked? Here’s a little list for starters and over the next few posts I hope to deal with them in turn…

How can Jesus’ death back then deal with my sins today?
Where is heaven?
Will I see my loved ones again?
Why is there so much suffering?
How can Jesus be God and the Son of God?

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

