Developing Our Mission Action Points

I promised in my last post to look further at our four Mission Action Points:

  • Outreach
  • Follow-up
  • Growth
  • Gifts and leadership

Since then, however, I have been rather distracted by thinking about Lent and what our Lent challenge should be this year.

But the more I think about it, the more I can see a link between our Mission Action Points and our Lent challenge. We will be spending 40 days reflecting on Jesus’ command to love each other as I have loved you (John 15:12). And really that command applies to each of those points:

  • Outreach. As we said at the time this involves meeting people where they are, finding the middle ground, accepting, not condoning. Effective outreach involves following Jesus’ example and being prepared to minister to all whom we encounter.
  • Follow-up. We saw how this involves a culture of welcome and invitation, and a willingness to invest time and energy in new relationships.
  • Growth. We considered how this included both inviting in and going out. Jesus shows us that the way to grow in love is through being willing to engage and to witness through our daily activities, whether they are activities of the church, or our own particular daily occupation.
  • Gifts and leadership. This is a response to the love of Jesus, by being willing to offer ourselves in service and recognising that each of us have a gift.

Love, if you like, is the thread that runs through all these points. Of course I realise these rather general observations do not fully explain how we are to put these action points into practice. But as we take up our Lent challenge, I believe that as we reflect on the love of Christ, we will begin to understand more what He is calling us to be and to do. That’s why I would very much value your feedback as I hope together we discern His will and His way for us.

One Response to Developing Our Mission Action Points

  1. Jing Li Sidey says:

    Thank you Tim for another clear thinking and logical direct. I love my health care assistant job as at work I can practice all these simply and often. In my position I also can improve myself by engaging with others not only the patients but other staff too…

Leave a Reply

